AgSafe Elects New Board of Directors

Share this Post


AgSafe Elects New Board of Directors

Langley, B.C. / April 12, 2021 – AgSafe, British Columbia’s agricultural health and safety association, held their first ever election for directors of the Board at the April 8th annual general meeting.

Interim Board Chair, Don Dahr and Executive Director, Wendy Bennett, presented a slate of seven candidates to AgSafe members. The members voted to accept the slate and launch AgSafe into a new era with a new Board of Directors.

AgSafe’s new board members are:
  • Don Dahr (Director – Agriculture Safety)
  • Andrea van Iterson (Director – Feed Lot Member)
  • Krista Harris (Director – Egg Producer Member)
  • David Nguyen (Director – Mushroom Member)
  • Paula Baxter (Director – Nursery Member)
  • Ajay Randhawa (Director – Young Farmer/Greenhouse Member)
  • Jennifer Ross (Director – Worker Representative)

AgSafe Board members bring informed decision-making skills, a broad knowledge base and an inclusive perspective. Applications were welcomed from individuals with extensive experience in agriculture and/or safety, as well as individuals with less experience but who are looking to learn about governance and leadership.

In 2020, AgSafe adopted a new set of bylaws and officially changed its name to AgSafe Agriculture Association. Also in 2020, an elected Transitional Board developed new policies and procedures, including a process for electing Directors to the Board that would position the organization to move in a new direction.

AgSafe had other good news to share as well. WorkSafeBC 2019 injury data (most recent data available) showed that the historical injury rate of >2.5 dropped significantly. The serious injury rate also showed a decline, indicating improved safety initiatives throughout agricultural operations in the province. With more than 24,000 workers in the agriculture subsectors in 2019, a reduction in the number of time loss claims is something agricultural employers and workers can be proud of.

** Injury rate indicates the number of people out of 100 who sustained a time loss injury.

Visit to read more about AgSafe’s new Board of Directors.


Don Dahr, AgSafe Board Director –

“Our goal is a Board that includes a mix of men and women of all ages, cultural diversity, small and large operations and representation from all regions of B.C.”

Wendy Bennett, AgSafe Executive Director –

“As an organization that works with all B.C. agricultural producers, we want a Board that represents and understands our membership and the community that our safety consultants and advisors work with every day.”


About AgSafe

AgSafe is the non-profit health and safety association for agricultural producers in British Columbia providing site-specific consultation and on-site safety education, as well as online workplace safety resources and materials. AgSafe is also the COR Certifying Partner for B.C.’s agricultural and associated industries and offers a Certificate of Recognition (COR) program for large and small employers.

For more information about AgSafe services or agriculture-related workplace health and safety call 1-877-533-1789 or visit

Follow AgSafe on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram

Media Contact
Lennea Durant
Media Relations
AgSafe BC